Call yourself a runner?

On Sunday morning a 10k run passed through Dulwich Village.  Well-heeled locals looked up from Cappuccinos and Sunday supplements with curiosity and admiration.  I’d normally have a mixture of envy and regret.  Not anymore.  I chugged past smug that, compared to 8 miles, 10k is light duties.

I completed 8 miles in 78 minutes.  Actually I think ran 8.2 miles as I couldn’t quite find a neat circular route of exactly 8 miles.    As ever it was hard at first, improved along the way and was very enjoyable for the last two miles.

On the downside I now have a sore knee, the first time in this programme that I’ve suffered any after effects.   MTFD recommends new shoes, stretching or ice baths for any form of ailment.  I’ll be taking the slightly more Tupperish approach of a good meal and some fine white wine.

Leave a comment