Tip No 6. Running by Numbers.

As  I decided to follow a plan (Tip 2), I needed to know where to run and how far.  My, very limited, previous experiences was running in the gym.   MTFD (Tip 3) reassured me treadmills minimise injury risk.  Plus you know how far you’ve run (and you can watch TV).  However, The GSR is outside so I’d have to tackle roads sometime.   I also want to finish by 7 a.m. to continue with the day.  My local gym opens at 6.30 only allowing short runs.   So I’ve braved hard payments, puddles and milkmen and taken to the streets.

Technology makes it easy to plan a route.  Lots of Internet applications show mileage as you draw a route on Google Maps.  I use the Map Tracker on Take To The Streets, which also  flags mile stages on the map.  A quick rummage for a dust-covered digital watch and  I can now track road miles as if I’m in the gym – although sadly I can’t watch TV.

Finally the Accountant in me records date, time and distance of each run on a spreadsheet.  This motivates me to keep up the pace, will let me know when I need new running shoes (Trip 1) and, let’s face it, is just so interesting.

Leave a comment